Texas State University is committed to your success and believes that NSO establishes the foundation for this. Studies have shown that students attending orientation programs have higher GPA's and retention rates than those who do not.
Yes. Students are expected to attend all parts of their NSO program, which includes spending the night in the residence hall. The overnight experience isn't just about providing a place to sleep, but an opportunity to meet fellow Bobcats and learn about a number of important campus resources.
Registration for New Student Orientation is done online. If you are unable to register online, please call the New Student Orientation office at 512.245.3655 (or email firstname.lastname@example.org) for a registration form.
If you have just completed high school, or have completed 0-15 transferable college hours since graduation, you are considered a freshmen and will need to attend a two-day freshman session. If you have completed 16 or more transferable hours AFTER high school graduation, or are a visiting or returning student, you have the option of completing your orientation online.
No. Space is limited for each session. You may change sessions without penalty provided space is available. Once you have paid for a session and need to change it, log back into the NSO system and switch to an open date.
Canceling your NSO reservation means you are no longer interested in attending Texas State University. In order to cancel your NSO reservation, you will need to withdraw your application for admission. To withdraw your application, please request an application withdrawal.
Orientation confirmations are sent on a rolling basis. You should expect to receive a confirmation within 1-2 weeks prior to your NSO session. Please note students who sign up for online orientation will not receive any physical confirmation material.
In your confirmation materials, you will find information about where and when to check-in. Details about the check-in process are provided in both your email confirmation and materials you will receive prior to orientation.
If you have a disability and require an accommodation (i.e. sign language services, information in alternative format), contact the Office of Disability Services at 512.245.3451 (voice/TTY) at least one week prior to your session. The University does not provide wheelchairs for ambulatory disabilities.
You should bring a pen and paper for notes. Comfortable walking shoes are a good idea. Often, the meeting rooms are chilly, so you may want to bring a light jacket. If you are attending an overnight session, you will also need bedding items, towels, and toiletries. For detailed list of what to bring, please refer to our Expectations & Schedules web page.
Students will receive a parking map and temporary permit for your session. Please be sure to display your permit on your dashboard or you may receive a ticket. Your parking permit is only good for parking in the perimeter surface lots, Matthew Street Garage, and Speck Garage. Parking is available in the LBJ Student Center garage for a fee.
Students can register family members and guests when they are registering to attend NSO. If a family member or guest needs to be added later, the student can log in to their account and add any additional family members or guests.
The cost to attend a two-day NSO program is $50 per family member or guest. The cost to attend a one-day NSO program is $30 per family member or guest. These fees support the family sessions that complement the student’s NSO experience.
The NSO fee is divided into two parts. Part one is paid up front and confirms your spot in the NSO session. The second part is added to your tuition and fees. Students who submit an approved fee waiver through the Office of Undergraduate Admissions qualify to have the initial NSO fee waived. However, the second portion will be charged to the student account.
State law requires that all students under 22 years of age entering any institution of higher education in Texas provide proof of immunization for bacterial meningitis. You will not be able to register for classes until this requirement is met. Step-by-step instructions on how to upload your documents, information about exemptions, and where to get the meningitis vaccination can be found on our Meningitis Vaccination Requirement web page. To avoid delays with course registration at your advising appointment, have this step completed one week before your advising session.