Whether or not you qualify as a Texas Resident for tuition purposes will determine the rate you are charged for tuition (in-state or out-of-state). The Legislature for the state of Texas sets up standards for residency and establishing residency for tuition. These standards are different and more rigorous than “normal” residency standards. For specific information on who qualifies as, and how to become a Texas resident, click here.
For more information on tuition and housing rates, click here.
*Some students that do not meet residency requirements for in-state tuition, may qualify for a waiver of (or exemption from) the out-of-state portion of tuition. This allows a student to pay the same effective rate as in-state residents. These waivers and exemptions are managed by Student Business Services, and you can find out more about them at the bottom of the page here.
Many qualifying Texas residents will be classified as out-of-state by the ApplyTexas system! To minimize the chance of this happening, make sure you answer each question of the residency section completely and accurately. Note, some students currently residing in Texas actually are not residents for tuition purposes, because they do not meet the Texas Resident standard(s).
Do not assume you will be a resident. Make sure your e-mail and postal mailing addresses are correct on your ApplyTexas application. All students whose residence is determined to be out-of-state will receive an e-mail or regular mail notification, with instructions on what to do if they feel this is an error. Be sure your e-mail filters will allow firstname.lastname@example.org e-mails to be delivered to your inbox and watch your U.S. mail. The earlier you can identify a possible mistake, the easier it is to fix. You may contact email@example.com. Your bill will not post until approximately three weeks before the semester or term begins. That is not the time to find out you are not a resident for tuition purposes.
Out-of-state tuition rates, while still a bargain, are two and a half times the in-state rate. The total out-of-state tuition and fees for a typical course load will run over $10,000 per semester and $20,000 a year. The out-of-state portion of that total is about $5,500 per semester and $11,000 a year.
It is important to know that leasing an apartment for a year will NOT qualify an out-of-state student as a resident. As an out-of-state student, you have to really commit to becoming a Texas resident by meeting one of these qualifications. We would love for you to do that, but if you are not able, and you do not qualify for a waiver or exemption, you need to be willing and prepared to pay the full out-of-state tuition rate every year.