Whether or not you qualify as a Texas Resident for tuition purposes will determine the rate you are charged for tuition (in-state or out-of-state). The Legislature for the state of Texas sets up standards for residency and establishing residency tuition. These standards are different and more rigorous than "normal" residency standards.
Learn more about the estimated cost of attendance.
What Texas Residents Need to Know
Qualifying Texas residents can be classified as out-of-state by the ApplyTexas system! To minimize the chance of this happening, make sure you answer each question of the residency section completely and accurately. Some students currently residing in Texas actually are not residents for tuition purposes, because they do not meet the Texas Resident standard(s).
Do not assume you will be a resident. Admitted students whose residence is determined to be out-of-state will receive notification with instructions on what to do if they feel this is an error. Make sure your email and postal mailing addresses are correct on your ApplyTexas application. The earlier you can identify a possible mistake, the easier it is to fix. Your bill will not post until approximately three weeks before the semester or term begins. That is not the time to find out you are not a resident for tuition purposes.
What Out-of-State Residents Need to Know
Out-of-state tuition rates, while still a bargain, are more than double the in-state rate. The total out-of-state tuition and fees for a typical course load can be more than $11,000 per semester.
It is important to know that leasing an apartment for a year will NOT qualify an out-of-state student as a resident. As an out-of-state student, you have to really commit to becoming a Texas resident by meeting one of the below qualifications. We would love for you to do that, but if you are not able, and you do not qualify for a waiver or exemption, you need to be willing and prepared to pay the full out-of-state tuition rate every year.
Determination of Residence Status for In-State Tuition
A student or applicant is classified either as an in-state resident of Texas, or an out-of-state resident, for tuition purposes. Rules for Texas residency classification for university tuition are different from those regarding “normal” residency. An applicant’s initial residency classification is determined by ApplyTexas based on information from their admission application. The student is responsible for ensuring their residency information is accurate and any corrections are made to their classification before the census date (12th class day for fall and spring semesters or 4th day for summer terms).
Chapter 21 of Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Rules includes the following provisions covering some of the more common residency situations. They are neither exhaustive nor complete. Some edits have also been made to enhance readability.
Graduated from a public or accredited private high school in Texas or received the equivalent of a high school diploma in Texas, AND
Maintained a residence continuously in Texas for
(i) the thirty-six months immediately preceding the date of graduation or receipt of the diploma equivalent, AND
(ii) the 12 months preceding the census date of the academic semester in which the person enrolls in an institution
Note: An individual who is neither a US citizen nor permanent resident must complete and submit a notarized Residency Affidavit. International applicants who meet the requirements listed above will need to contact the Residency Specialist to ensure their residency classification is correct.
Establishes domicile in Texas not less than 12 months before the census date of the academic semester in which the person enrolls at Texas State University.
Note: Non-domicile-eligible visa holders, including F-1 visa students, are ineligible for this provision.
Was previously enrolled and classified as a Texas resident by a public institution of higher education, AND
Maintained continuous enrollment or did not break enrollment for more than one regular semester immediately before applying to Texas State University.
Has had a State of Legal Residence of Texas for more than one year or has a Home of Record of Texas, AND
has returned to Texas within one year of discharge.
Tuition waivers exist for qualified current, veteran, and military dependents. You MUST contact the residency office before you discuss any waiver with the Veteran Affairs office.
1. A Permanent Resident or person who is eligible for permanent resident status (filed an I-485 and received an I-797 receipt that the application had not been rejected);
2. A person classified by the USCIS as a Refugee, Asylee, Parolee, Conditional Permanent Resident, or Temporary Resident;
3. A person holding Temporary Protected Status, and Spouses and Children with approved petitions under the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA), an applicant with an approved USCIS I-360, Special Agricultural Worker, and a person granted deferred action (to include DACA) status by USCIS;
4. A person who has filed an application for Cancellation of Removal and Adjustment of Status under Immigration Nationality Act 240A(b) or a Cancellation of Removal and Adjustment of Status under the Nicaraguan and Central American Relief Act (NACARA), Haitian Refugee Immigrant Fairness Act (HRIFA), or the Cuban Adjustment Act, and who has been issued a fee/filing receipt or Notice of Action by USCIS; and
5. A person who has filed for adjustment of status to that of a person admitted as a Permanent Resident under 8 United States Code 1255, or under the "registry" program (8 United States Code 1259), or the Special Immigrant Juvenile Program (8 USC 1101(a)(27)(J)) and has been issued a fee/filing receipt or Notice of Action by USCIS.
Please Note: These regulations are subject to revision by the legislature and Coordinating Board. We make every effort to include all recent revisions at this site. At times, however, the most current regulations may not have been forwarded to our office at the posting of this page.
The student (or their parent, if still a dependent) resided in Texas for at least 12 months prior to the census date of the semester the student intends to enroll, AND
a) owned and occupied real property in Texas (renting a home is not ownership), OR
b) owned and managed a "brick & mortar" business in Texas, OR
c) was gainfully employed, including self-employed, in Texas.
(i) A person who is self-employed or who is living off earnings (present or past, such as pensions, veterans' benefits, social security and savings from previous earnings) may be considered gainfully employed for purposes of establishing residency, as may a person whose primary support is public assistance.
(ii) Employment conditioned on student status, such as work study, the receipt of stipends, fellowships, or research or teaching assistantships does not constitute gainful employment.
Note 1: Marriage for at least 12 months to a person who established a domicile in Texas per one of the above methods is also a basis for establishing a domicile.
Note 2: The temporary absence of a person or a dependent's parent from the state, for the purpose of service (such as U.S. Armed Forces, Public Health Service, Department of Defense, U.S. Department of State or AmeriCorps), as a result of an employment assignment, or for educational purposes, shall not preclude a person's ability to establish a domicile. The person or the dependent's parent shall provide sufficient documentation to the institution of the reason for the temporary absence and showing intent to return.
Waivers and Exemptions from Non-Resident Tuition
All requests for a residency review, which typically includes submitting some form of documentation required to support the student's request, must be received prior to the census date. There is no prorating of non-resident tuition charges due to residency changes. If status is updated to resident before the census date, all non-resident tuition will be deleted. No changes to billing can be made after the census date of a current term. Changes to residency after the census date will not be applied until the next semester.
Fall 2019: September 9, 2019
Spring 2020: February 3, 2020
Summer 2020: June 2, 2020
Fall 2020: September 7, 2020
Requests received after the census date will be reviewed for the next available term.